Gerald (Jerry) Zezas

Home » Uncategorized » We are now turning back Syrian refugees, as of last night.

We are now turning back Syrian refugees, as of last night.

Twitter Updates


I’ve never been able to look at the attached picture for more than a few seconds. I am too much of a coward to deal with the tragedy which it depicts, and I certainly don’t want to exploit that family’s pain. download

With the impending ban on Syrian refugees finally taking shape, I find myself at a crossroads. I really don’t want to be identified with the America that America has become, but I still have allegiance to what it once was. I’m also not sure if other countries might begin to retaliate against us by banning Americans from moving there. I’m feeling quite stuck.

I may start referring to myself as an American In Moral Exile, or AIME, rather than an American citizen. I’m not sure if I want to suffer the tacit humiliation which is now associated with the latter appellation. I welcome your ideas or comments.

Leave a Reply

