Gerald (Jerry) Zezas

Home » Uncategorized » The saddest part of this election is…

The saddest part of this election is…

Twitter Updates


The more I think about this election, the more I can’t think about it. I have been an activist for my entire life. I protested the Vietnam War. I protested against the Nixon presidency. I argued for funding for AIDS when there was none. I fought Ronald Reagan’s war mongering policies and military buildup. I screamed when George HW Bush said he was “out of the loop” on Iran Contra, and complained incessantly about his idiot son and how he ruined this country for generations to come.

But this guy…this bloviating, self-referential, low standards con artist who has persuaded just enough of us that he belongs in the Whitehouse…I just don’t have the words. He truly is a leader of deplorables. The skinniest kid in fat camp. The smartest kid in idiot school. The most believable liar. The healthiest gluton. The most altruistic billionaire slumlord. The most pious whorehound. The most loving father who makes sexual references to his daughter. The most hard-working and studious trust-fund baby. The most understated resident of a gold-plated penthouse. The most humble braggart. The most down-to-earth man whose name is emblazoned on his personal jet.

Our standards of intelligence, patriotism, leadership and our benchmarks for personal integrity and political openness have descended to depths beneath what I’ve ever seen or expected to see in my lifetime.

The problem for me is that it is now beneath my ability to rail against. I just don’t know how to explain that the earth is round to someone whose absolutely incontrovertible proof that it is flat is a picture of the horizon from his front porch.

1 Comment

  1. bluedoor8 says:

    This one, Jerry. This post is perfection. It is the truest thing I’ve read in many months. Thank you, my friend. I’m, at the very least, comforted by your sane words in an insane reality.

Leave a Reply

