Gerald (Jerry) Zezas

Home » Courage » My Favorite Conservative

My Favorite Conservative


Here are two of my favorite quotes from one of the few conservatives I’ve ever seen who I believe to be of superior intelligence. I disagreed with a lot of what he said, but sometimes he was just too smart to argue with. I haven’t seen one like him in a long time. Other than George Will, (who doesn’t quite rise to this level), I don’t know of anyone else who can use the English language so well to convey his message, even one that opposes mine.

To wit:

“Conservatives pride themselves on resisting change, which is as it should be. But intelligent deference to tradition and stability can evolve into intellectual sloth and moral fanaticism, as when conservatives simply decline to look up from dogma because the effort to raise their heads and reconsider is too great.”

and

“A conservative is someone who stands athwart history, yelling stop.”

Both are from William F Buckley.

Leave a Reply

